Small Talk

I wish I could get an operation,

That would help me better hold a conversation.

I’m at my wits end,

Is there any doctor you’d recommend?

Somewhere I read,

Of a scientist long dead,

Who once said,

It was possible to put two brains in one head.

I want this surgery,

To be performed on me.

So that when the time comes,

To be one on one,

I won’t seem dumb,

Because I’ll have an extra brain to pull from.

Although it seems unethical and impractical,

Don’t peg me as a radical,

Because I’m willing to entertain the fantastical.

I just want you to know,

How far I’d go.

For there should be no laws,

When it comes to eliminating the awkward pause.

Leave a Reply

